By Page Van Pernis

    On April 4th 2017 Kendrick Lamar turned the music industry upside down with his 4th studio album DAMN. This album included features by Rihanna, U2, Mike Will Made It, and production by Dr. Dre. Tracklist: Blood, DNA, YAH, Element, Feel, Loyalty ft. Rihanna, Pride, Humble, Love, XXX feat. U2, Fear, God, Duckworth.

The 13 song album includes 7 of the billboard top 100, and 2 of the top 20. With Humble coming in at #4 and DNA coming in at #12 and a rolling stone review of 4.5 of 5 stars.

     Many people anticipated this album, and have been waiting 2 years since his last album, to Pimp a Butterfly. The 29 year old rapper has a very loyal cult following and is very respected in the rap industry. His profound lyrics, challenge the alternative scenes of rap which include, Kodak Black, 21 Savage, and a slew of other rappers described as “mumble rappers”. Whose lyrics are more basic in nature with catchy hooks and revolve more around their success as rappers.

     Album Review: This album touches on many real problems and concerns in southern California along with the problems that face Kendrick personally. With great production by Dr. Dre and Mike Will Made it, and a surprising feature by U2 this album has many high points of celebration and serious low points. 5 out of 5 stars.