By: Cody Sackett

Avenged Sevenfold was formed in Huntington Beach, California in 1999. The original band members were Matt Sanders, Brian Haner Jr., Zachary Baker, Jonathan Seward, and James Sullivan. Since their formation in 1999, they have had the same members except for the drummer. James “The Rev” Sullivan was the drummer from 1999 until the year he died, which was on December 28th, 2009. He participated in all albums from their first album, Sounding the Seventh Trumpet, to their fifth album, Nightmare. James died during the making of Nightmare and left Avenged Sevenfold without a drummer.

After James’ death, Avenged Sevenfold recruited Mike Portnoy as a temporary drummer to finish 2010 album, Nightmare. Arin Ilejay then took over as a permanent drummer in 2011 and recorded the drums in their latest album, Hail to the King. Recently, Ilejay parted ways with Avenged Sevenfold because they wanted a different sound that he didn’t have. Shortly after Ilejay’s departure, Brooks Wackerman took his place as drummer. Wackerman has been a drummer for many bands such as Korn, Tenacious D, and Bad Religion. He has also been a temporary drummer for A Perfect Circle, and Nine Inch Nails. Avenged Sevenfold and Wackerman are working on their latest album which is yet to be named and have only let out one song. The album is to be released sometime in 2016 and is very anticipated by many Avenged Sevenfold fans.